A chance at new beginnings

When I was younger, I always believed that at 25, I would have everything figured out, my life would be perfect, I would be a famous photographer and I would have met the love of my life, but then, life does not always go the way we want.

I was at a stage in my life where I believed life had nothing else to offer me, my mother's health keeps deteriorating, I believe I was cursed by God, maybe I had committed a grave sin against him and he is punishing me for it.

I was wrapping up a gig when I got a call. Apparently Mr Tom Harrison, one of the most successful artists in the world, asked to see me. I was in disarray,I pondered over the fact that I have done something wrong and now his agency wants to see me.

Upon meeting him, I got the biggest shock of my life. He asked me if I was the one who took a picture– a picture of his painting of a little boy struggling to get out of a river with different hands pulling him beneath the water. It was like my life, a lot of forces unseen keep holding me back.

I thought Mr Harrison was going to berate me but he complimented me and told me I took the picture in a way that conveys the message and he told me he would like to work with me if I'm willing, he said I would take pictures of his paintings that are yet to come, although I would be on probation to see if I will fit in.

I couldn't believe my ears so I ran out of there to the nearest restroom and I cried my eyes out, I cried because of everything that has been happening in my life, I cried for my mom who was at home, and I cried because God finally remembered me. I promised myself right there that the world is going to see me for who I am and I am determined to get there.