My first Bootcamp Task

My first Bootcamp Task

How I Cracked My Task

Two weeks ago, after I had just completed a 4 weeks internship program with the Side hustle internship program, I decided to sign up for the bootcamp, the bootcamp is like the second phase of the internship, it is not compulsory but necessary but it was a good way for me to get hands on experience and build my portfolio, I didn't have all the time in the world, it's not like I wasn't trying to balance my everyday activities with it, school was one on it own, I had classes till evening, exams was near so I was bound to be nervous, I didn't know how I was going to balance the two..

Day 1 of the bootcamp started, I woke up very early that day, it was a public holiday for the Easter celebration that happened over the weekend, which means a free day to rest and get things done, I logged in to our bootcamp workspace which is on slack, I wanted to check if our task has been uploaded and lo and behold, there it was, week 1 and 2 task. I was given a task to complete with a 2 weeks time frame, the time frame was more than enough for me, the only problem is that, I have an exam starting next Monday and I haven't read shit..sorry for the curse word but I really need to use it at the moment.. Well, I went over the task I was given, it was not new to me, it was something they had taught us during the internship and I have even done a similar task like that during the internship but then my brain didn't remember all these things I was saying, I was scared, I think the nerves were starting to get to me, I was happy to start the bootcamp but now that it was here, I didn't know where to start from, things were about to get intense.

Fast forward to day 2.

Reality check; I didn't get shit done the first day, I didn't read for my exams and I didn't do any research about the task, but then something good happened, our exams has been postponed by a week, it was like God answered my prayers, I could focus on the task at hand this week and read for my exams during my leisure time, I had to cultivate the habit of multitasking.

I cleared my bed, did my morning routine and decided to do some researchs, my task was to create a go-to-market strategy for a small brand, I had to decide on which brand to use so the first thing I did was ask myself one thing I was passionate about that I could enjoy working on, so I decided to go with a skincare brand, it's one thing I love, I even wish to have a brand of my own one day,so I went to google and I did my researchs on skincare brands that I could work on, I decided to go with House of coco skincare, a brand in Nigeria

I had a brand I want to use now so all I had to focus on was doing researchs and starting my task. Anytime I have a task to do, the first thing I do is draft it out so I started making drafts of my target audience definition, my buyer persona, my social media goals, contents and so on..

Day 3 came, I continued my research, read more about the brand, asked my colleagues about how far they have gone cos deep down I was scared to be the only one that has not actually started.

Day 4; I started the task for real, I decided to use google slides for my tool, it was easy for me to start the task because I already had drafts of how I was going to do it so I simply started typing it out,I watched our old lesson videos so as not to miss any important thing, it was not as easy as I thought it was going to be but I was improving day by day and I wasn't nervous anymore.

Day 5 came, it was already Friday and I have not done half of the task, so I continued from where I stopped, but then confusion came, I wasn't sure about what I was doing anymore, but I told myself it was just the nerves.

Day 6 came, I had plan ahead that Saturday was going to be a day to read for my forthcoming exam so I didn't check my task that day, I only checked if there was any info or updates on the group chat

Day 7 came,I went to church and used the rest of the day to rest

Fast forward to Monday, a new day and new week perfect to continue my task, I had plan to go all in cos my task was due on Friday and exam was on Monday too,I didn't want to think about how I'm going to balance my exams with the next task we will be given, I had to focus on the one at hand

Day 9: I was mostly done with the market strategy but I have not even started the main one, which is the email marketing campaign and the content aspect, I was a little bit confused about how to do go about it. I went back to watch videos on email marketing campaign from my dashboard but I was still not sure about how to do it so I decided to leave it for later, I focused on how I was going to create a blog content for the brand, it was another research for me to do again, I had to go to google and read other people blog content on skincare before I can decide on how to do my own.

Day 10: I was mostly sure about how I was going to write my blog content now so I decided to focus on it for that day and truth be told it was actually easy for me to write.

Day 11; I haven't done my hashnode documentation, haven't posted on twitter, haven't create an email campaign and to top it all, I didn't know how I was going to compile the whole task,I was starting to get overwhelmed again so I decided to take a break and just surf the web,when it was evening,I continued my task and I read a little, just a little, I asked my other colleagues about how to compile the task and a nice girl told me to create a folder on drive, I was just getting worried for no reason, when it was nighttime, the link to submit was posted on the group, I wasn't done with my task and submission was tomorrow, I decided to sleep and continue the rest the next morning.

Final day: submission was today but till 11:59pm in the night so I still had a little time to complete my task, I decided to focus on creating an email campaign, it wasn't easy for me at first but I later got it, then for the first time in my life I posted on twitter and it was actually nice.

Just 2 weeks into the bootcamp and I have had a lot of rollercoasters, it wasn't easy and the same time it was, I can't wait to see the task they have in store for us next week, I don't mind getting my hands dirty all over again.